The Despair of Calvinism

I had a chance to spend some time in a church that taught Calvinistic principles but at least had the grace to accept those who held other major views on sovereignty and election.

What I discovered is that after a time of focusing so much on the glory of God I began to lose my sense of the closeness and intimacy with God. Love for God was replaced by working to glorify God. Nothing wrong in seeking to glorify God but from my reading of the Scriptures, the greatest command is to love God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength. What God sought most, according to the answer of Jesus, is our love for Him. And it is out of this love that flows our service to others.

I felt that the Calvinist desire to ascribe everything to God made me feel that my Christianity was reduced to a works-based existence. I was constantly trying to curry the favor of God rather than rest in the fact that His favor is not based on my performance but upon my faith. Later, I would realize that the Calvinist’s focus on God’s glory stems from their understanding of God’s Sovereignty where the human is only an actor for a fully predetermined plan in every detail.

People who came to Jesus seeking to be justified and honored based on the observance of the Law always came up empty and short. Those who came to Jesus humbly, in faith, seeking for God to do something where all human efforts failed found forgiveness, mercy, and the grace of God.

I love God and I love honoring Him not only because He is transcendent, but also because He is near.

Leave a Reply

